In 1933, under the aegis of the engineer Franck A. Perret, the first museum on the island opened its doors with an exhibition that, in addition to the remains of the disaster, gave an important place to volcanology.
This art deco inspired building was renovated in 1969 in a modernist architecture inspired by the International Style. The name “Franck A. Perret Museum” is then inscribed in forged letters on the facade.
In December 2018, it was completely renovated under a public service delegation awarded to the Clément Foundation. The name “Memorial of the 1902 disaster” is added to the historical name of the founder of the museum to mark the new orientation with a more cultural approach to the disaster that highlights the experience lived by the Martiniquais and its worldwide repercussion.